Complete Confusion W/ Reg Selection

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

buckyblue920

Registered
Reaction score
# of dives
0 - 24
Being completely honest and a recovering W.O.W. player, I am a noob in terms of scuba. I am looking to purchase gear for my June certification, and wanting to make sound decisions in the money I am investing for personal and professional (law enforcement) diving. The dive shop I'm going through has given great tips, but when the regular manager wasn't on duty another employee steered me towards another reg.

In short, I plan on doing most of my diving in WI and the Great Lakes Region. I want to get involved with search and recovery working alongside with friends who own cadaver dogs outside our department. I thought I was settled on the Aqualung Titan LX Supreme, but now doubting that choice. The most recent dive shop visit with another employee suggested Legend LX Supreme for cold water dives. I want a reg I can count on for dives here in WI, and one that travels well to the warmer waters of Hawaii and Cayman. Any advice is always appreciated!

Thank you so much,

Dan

The best regulator buy that I know of, without any compromise in performance or reliability, is the HOG. They are also the only company that I know of that wants to see you, the end user, trained to service and repair your own regulator.

I can't really advise on Aqualungs since I've dove a Titan only once.

How much you got to work with?