claustrophobic new diver

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

Sneak

New
Reaction score
Hello all!!

I am new to scuba diving and have just finished my pool sessions. Soon I will be doing the open water dives. Unfortunately it will be in a querry. YUCK! I heaqr that you cannot see under there past 5 feet. Anyone had there OW in a querry as well? My question is this. I am a little panicky underwater. I feel a little claustrophobic. I have always snirkeled and swam and I am a little surprised at my scarred feelings and claustrophic feelings. Does this feeling ever go away? I know that I am just starting out but i almost didn't go back to the pool. I have a good mask but it tends to fog up a lot which may be adding to this panic feeling. Ifeel like Ican't stay down longer than 10 mins in a pool of 15 ft deep! I have trouble calming myself to stay underwater and pay attention to the instructor. The instructor said that I have a great mask but it is known for fogging a lot! Why make a mask like this? It is a Sea Vision mask. Any one else have this problem? Any suggestions or just get another mask. I am slightly petrified of going deep underwater ina cold dark querry for the finsihing of my class. Any suggestions or stories or medataion techniques I would love! Is this claustrophobic, panic feeling common amongst first timers? I am going to the Caribean in a week after....if only I could feel confident to get through the class andall of it's paniced exercises!! HELP!

Thanks!!

Sneak once bubbled...
Hello all!!