Can you help me choosing between these computers?

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

RicardoM

Registered
Reaction score
# of dives
0 - 24
Hello there. As you can see, I am a totally newbie at diving, so it is with diver computers. I am looking for a new one, and I have in sight three of them: Petrel 2, Cobalt 2, and Stuunto Eon Steel with AI transmitter, actually in that order. Most of my dives are and will be with a single tank of air, but I do not discard using nitrox in the future, perhaps even trimix. Most of my diving it is in the Sea of Cortez and will be mostly at 65ft-90ft. The propose of my diving is for taking pictures (I have a DSLR with housing and strobes) and have fun. I would like to focus on the photography and dive kinda worry free. I would like to buy a computer that last at least 4 or 5 years of use without being obsolete, that’s why I pick up the next ones (also I really like the color screens). Now, about the computers:

PETREL 2: I have read too many good things about it, almost no one complains about it. The AA battery it is a relief. The lack of the AI it is what is stopping me of buying it right now. If I go Petrel way, Do you thing I will need/use the VPM-B algorithm for the kind of diving I do?