Building My First Rig for Mirrorless Camera (GH5s) and I Have Questions

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

Reaction score
# of dives
100 - 199
Hi all,

I'm new to the forum, but have lurked/read plenty of threads over the past few years I've been a diver. A couple of years ago, I started shooting (terrible) video with a GoPro (5), upgraded to a newer GoPro (11) and added some lights and filters, and sure enough...I started getting better results and became hooked.

After really enjoying the macro video during my trip to the Philippines earlier this year (Dauin), I decided that I had pushed my GoPro to about its limit. A couple of months ago, I went all in and bought a GH5s, housing (Aquatica AGH5), macro lens (Olympus 60mm f/2.8), +10 close-up lens (+ flip adapter - both Aquatica), and a tripod base. I've also got other accessories (focus gear, 2 x Backscatter MW-4300 video lights, Backscatter OS-1 snoot, lots of Ultralight arms and clamps, etc), and really the only thing I need now are floats (planning to set it all up and submerse/weigh it soon so I have an idea of what I need).

Here are some questions I've been pondering as I learn how everything works: