Beginner needs help

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

TLangston

Registered
Reaction score
# of dives
50 - 99
Hello all of you photo Gurus,

I have been reading lots of posts with information on specific models, types on lenses and resolutions. I have little to no knowledge about cameras.
I NEED YOUR HELP!
Here is what I am looking for:
1) primarily land use digital camer as I can only go diving once or twice a year.
2) Middle of the line that I can also take U/W on dives for good/great pictures.
3) Housing (of course)
4)costs - $500-600.

I have no idea if this price range is possible. Like I said before, I am a novice when it comes to cameras.

Looking for Guidance - Teri

i use a Canon SD110 and a WP-DC10 underwater case; you can get both for
about $350 or less (that's about $170 for the camera, $180 for the case)

i use it exactly like you want to. it's my vacation camera, and then i put it in its
underwater case and take snapshots under water (this is not professional-grade equipment, needless to say)

check out my gallery for what pics it will take

Teri,

I spent about that much and got this setup:

Canon S50 (was $3-400 when I bought it, probably 200-250 now)
Canon WP-300 Underwater Housing ($150 from Provantage.com)
Lexar Pro Series Highspeed 1 GB Compact Flash II ($100 from Buy.com)