Bad knee and fins

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

brandnew

Reaction score
# of dives
0 - 24
I'm fairly new to diving and have a bad knee (the trade off from years of contact sports) Although I have gotten used to limping after certain activities I do try and avoid it whenever possable. A day after doing a couple of dives my knee will ache and I'll be limping. So heres the question, has anyone else had this kind of problem? Any ideas on ways to mininize the knee strain?

At current I'm using a pair of Agualung blades 2 flex and butterfly kick

If you are swimming against a current, it is going to be tough the day after. If you are able to take it easy on your dives, and take them a little slower, I find that my knees give me less problems, particularly on successive diving days. I have tried force fins and they are okay, but not tech fins. I dived with Mares Avanti Quattro Pros for years, and they were always reliable. I have and still use Scubapro jet fins, but they seem to require more leg strength than my current fins, the Dive Rite fins. They are slightly longer and narrower than the Jets, and that gives me about the same power and technical kick capability, but with slightly less fatigue at the end of the dive. Fins are one of those things like masks that you just have to try them to see what works best for you.