Back Plate questions

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

pos-tech

Registered
Reaction score
I have been diving a trans pac 2 for about 2 years and have been relativly happy with it, but am now considering buying a back plate harness system. I will still us my rbod oms wings(don't try to talk me out of those):eek:ut:
What makes some back plates better than others, I will be using it for both singles and doubles. What should I look for??

pretty much the same. Some are heavier than others, some are aluminum. Some have more slots and holes in 'em. Watch out for rough cuts, they will cut the life of your harness webbing short. Do a search here, you'll have weeks worth of reading. FredT makes good ones, he's a member here.

mike

Fred's plates give you the widest selection of wings/accessories with their extra holes.
OMS wings are made by Seatec, one of the first companies in the BC market. They're good stuff, & will fit Fred's plates just like they were made for them.

Take a FredT backplate versus, say, a Halcyon BP. The FredT is machined so that it can fit the Halycon rig, and also many others. This means that the FredT BP must have more holes and slots cut into it to accomodate the wide range of fits.

If both BPs weigh the same amount, does this mean that the FredT is a bigger BP overall? Or is the weight loss from the extra slots/holes negligible?

Matt

Give some consideration to a Halcyon. Its my favorite plate for several reasons, electropolish finish among them.