Are there dive shops in Cozumel that will accommodate shallower dives tailored towards beginners?

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

Reaction score
# of dives
0 - 24
Hi, I am planning on hiring a private guide because I am a beginner, but I understand that most dive shops will go to 80 ft for their first dive. If I am more comfortable around 40 - 50 ft are there certain dive shops you would recommend? Or as long as I hire a private guide do you think I should be good with any dive shop? Thanks!

Your best bet is to find a dive op with multiple boats and DMs, and lots of divers. That way if the OP you choose segregates boats according to skill and interest then there is a better chance to find one that can meet your needs without a private charter. On the other hand, with that same operator hire a private DM for your first day. Even the most deep sites can be enjoyed at 4-50 feet at the top of the coral heads.

Dave Dillehay

Your best bet is to find a dive op with multiple boats and DMs
I agree with Dave from a big picture but many of the smaller dive ops can easily accommodate beginners and advanced divers on the same smaller boat(s). Many dive ops use 1 DM per 4 divers but have additional DM’s available if requested. So you can go with any group but still dive a comfortable profile with a private guide if you wish.