Any Drysuit users self-taught?

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

BORG

Contributor
Reaction score
Tucker, Georgia, just northeast of Atlanta
# of dives
100 - 199
I know there are many DVDs, manuals and courses out there for someone wanting to learn the correct and safe way to use a drysuit for diving. I will be using these materials probably as well as I have never used a drysuit before.
How many of you bought a drysuit and practiced basic skills and techniques with someone(a dive buddy who uses a drysuit and knows what they are doing) who had been drysuit diving for some time without taking a formal course?

I taught myself. I paid for some pool time and had a buddy help me out. I wouldn't recommend that approach for a new diver but a diver with some experience can figure it out. I wouldn't recommend go straight to open water without spending an hour or two in the pool with someone that knows what they are doing.

I'll admit it. I never took a drysuit course. Make sure you practice disconnectiong inflator hose, righting yourself when you find your standing on your head, dumping air in an emergency etc. & read anything you can get your hands on & make sure you have an experienced buddy with you (but, if he's doing things wrong you will too). I would recommend having an instructor run through it with you. If you're buying from an LDS they may even throw in the dry suit course. The only reason I didn't take the course was scheduling/instructor problems with the shop I deal with.