Advice for Maui in December

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

LandLockedDiveGuy

Registered
Reaction score
# of dives
0 - 24
My wife and I are tenatively planning a week in Maui in early December. Unfortunately, she does not dive and I'm a relative newbie having only dived in St Lucia and Cozumel.

I'm looking for advice on dive sites, and shops, as well as how this type of diving might be different than what I'm used to. Because I'll be buddy-less, I'll likely need the services of a dive charter rather than just launching out on my own. Any particularly good companies you'd recommend?

Thanks in advance...

I went to Maui when I had 9 dives. My husband and I dove with B&B out of Kihei, and we had a wonderful time. They were very willing to provide the help we needed (which turned out to be surprisingly little). We have dived with them on several occasions, and always done well.

Contact kidspot (Tim) who is a SB local guide for Maui, before you go. Tim's a great guy who really knows the shore diving spots. He is a lovely diver and a great buddy. He'll help you figure out where to go and what to do.

There's great boat diving, and great shore diving on Maui. You'll have fun.

Other good ops out of Kihei are Mike Severns and Ed Robinsons, but B&B seems to be a favorite around here. My husband and I were certified in Maui, so being a newbie is no big deal to dive there. :wink: