A Question of LDS Purchasing Etiquette

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

aliengoods

Registered
Reaction score
# of dives
0 - 24
I'm new to scuba (just got OW certified a week ago) and I love it. I love it so much I'm saying to heck with it and getting my own rig. Well, everything but the tank. All of my gear, except a dive knife and a wetsuit, have been purchased from my LDS, and I have to say I have a great LDS. The prices I've paid for almost everything have been at or below online prices for the exact same equipment. But now I've come to a bit of a problem. My LDS doesn't carry the dive computer I would like to purchase (after extensive research and factoring in my training and diving plans for the next year). Sure, they have a couple that are good and would give me 90% of what I want, but I want 100% of what I'm looking for. So my question is this. Is it considered in poor taste to get something other than at your LDS and then give it to them to install? This one has the wireless sensors which go into the first stage, so I would rather the professionals install it. I've already spent around $2K there in the last month between training and equipment, so it's not like I'm not into supporting my LDS, and they are a great bunch of guys, it's just they don't carry what I want. Any advice on how to handle the situation as to not offend anyone?

First, see if they can order it for you. If they can't then ask them if they have a problem with you bringing in a computer module to have them install it.