A nudge in the right direction

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

QuickDraw07

Reaction score
# of dives
0 - 24
I will be starting the 4th year of my Bs in Biology this August and I am looking for a little direction from anyone with a little more experience. I have my scuba certification but have only been on a handful of dives since I have not yet purchased my own equipment (remember, I am a poor college student). I would like to go into marine biology or marine ecology, something where I get to dive instead of just working in a lab, but feel like I am a little under experienced for such work. What I would really like to do is work around coral reefs, maybe off the coast of California, doing research in population dynamics or reef conservation. I am keeping my options pretty broad because I honestly don't know what kind of jobs are out there. I have lived in upstate NY all my life but just love swimming and being in the ocean, which may explain the academic and career path. I can't say I know much about what I am trying to get myself into but I know I would enjoy doing it and am willing to learn. My school doesn't really have any kind of marine science program so they haven't been much help for advise when it comes to jobs after college. I was accepted into a marine biology program through Northeastern last year where I would have taken classes and dove in Boston, Tahiti, and Cali but I couldn't foot the $60,000 bill. It would have been an enlightening experience and I was so excited to go and am a little disappoin