5mm? 7mm? 3mm? Crazy Wool Thing?

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

matthewkavanagh

Registered
Reaction score
# of dives
100 - 199
Hey Folks,
So, I've been diving for 10 years but have managed to buy almost no equipment since most of my diving has been while living abroad.
BUT, I'm taking the plunge and about to buy a real wet suit... I dive a few times a year in Central America, but am also starting to do some quarry diving and diving off the East Coast (Maryland, Virginia, North Carolina).
I'm assumning what I really need is two suits, right? I couldn't get away with doing a 5mm suit and calling it even?
Recommendations, if so, for what to get? Should I get 3mm and a 7mm? What's the combination that'll get me the most flexibility for the least cash?
Finally, I've been reading a lot of posts here and folks have been raving about Pinnacle's funny wool suits... which Pinnacle says are warmer than a 5mm? Is this really true anyone????

Many thanks!
_Matt

I dive wet, and dry. If I can't do it in a 3mm I dive dry.

The most bang for the buck would be a tropical suit, and a cold suit. What cold suit you choose depends on your budget. For me it's dry, but a lot of divers do use a 7mm.

How about a 5/4 fullsuit and a 5/3 hooded vest...this should give you a range of 55F-80F water temps (at least it does for me).

Cheers.

-J.-

johnny_bravo:
How about a 5/4 fullsuit and a 5/3 hooded vest...this should give you a range of 55F-80F water temps (at least it does for me).

Cheers.

-J.-