1957 Douglas AD-5 Skyraider found off Miami

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

aue-mike

Contributor
Reaction score
Divers find sunken Korean War-era Marine plane off Miami

1697855481088.png

Interesting...I'm far from an expert, but the photos of the airplane on the bottom look like two side-by side seats. The sky raider only had a single seat up front. Maybe there was a side by side version? @beldridg?

There were a number of versions of the Skyraider, including (IIRC) several with side by side seating. I think the AEW and ASW versions, specifically? Some versions also had two crew positions in the lower hull behind the wing. it is a MASSIVE aircraft for a single engine.

From Wiki:

The AD-5 was significantly widened, allowing two crew to sit side-by-side (this was not the first multiple-crew variant, the AD-1Q being a two-seater and the AD-3N a three-seater); it also came in a four-seat night-attack version, the AD-5N.

Cthippo is correct. There were multiple variants of the Douglas Skyraider and it served many roles. This variant, the AD-5, was significantly widened, allowing two crew to sit side-by-side (this was not the first multiple-crew variant, the AD-1Q being a two-seater and the AD-3N a three-seater); it also came in a four-seat night-attack version, the AD-5N. The rear area could be used to carry additional passengers or cargo.

@RyanT As others have mentioned, there was definitely a version with 2 pilots across from each other.