Your biggest "lessons learned"

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

Diver0001

New
Scuba Instructor
Reaction score
I've been diving for over 30 years and I want to start a thread in the basic forum to give newer divers some ideas of things that really happen in the real world. We train for a number of scenarios but what have "experienced" divers really learned from things that have gone wrong?

(this post could get long).

I'm hoping that other long-time divers will post on this thread and share their insights.

I think I'll do a top 5 list to keep it short(ish)

1) my first "incident" under water. It had to do with a rented regulator that had obviously been left in the sand and not cleaned well. During the descent a large amount of sand came loose from the inside of the 2nd stage housing and made it impossible to breathe. I was near the bottom so I settled on the bottom, took my own octopus and swished out my mouth. The octopus was working so I started cleaning the primary and purging it, which caused large amounts of sand in a sort of cloud to be expelled. After a minute or two the sand was cleared and we continued with the dive. Lesson learned. We have backups for a reason. Don't be afraid to use your OWN octopus. I still teach this in OW.