Why Watts?

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

pedo

Contributor
Reaction score
# of dives
100 - 199
It seems many lights, and primarily HIDs, are rated as 10W, 21W, etc. I assume that is input. While I can see that a light's input needs are of interest, isn't the output what counts? Are HIDs so standardized that equal wattage equates to equal output?

Good question. I'm not a light expert but I would imagine that it originates from this fact of physics: If you hold efficiency constant the output power is directly proportional to input power. Power draw is simple to measure and unambiguous. But you have to be aware that comparing different technologies (Halogen vs HID vs LED) based on power draw is pretty useless.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Lumen_(unit)

I agree the watt rating is not a positive criterion. In fact you want a light with a low watt rating and lots of light. I guess it's easier to make a light that uses lots of power than one that gives a lot of light with little power.

Adam

It seems many lights, and primarily HIDs, are rated as 10W, 21W, etc. I assume that is input. While I can see that a light's input needs are of interest, isn't the output what counts? Are HIDs so standardized that equal wattage equates to equal output?