what's considered the best

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

Homunculus

Contributor
Reaction score
# of dives
50 - 99
hi folks,
my wife and I are planning to go for our first ever caribbean vacations. I have some experience diving, she will get her OW license this summer. we're thinking of going sometime in the winter. we would be diving recreationally (i.e. no cave diving). i have a few questions that maybe of a broad spectrum but i'll try to narrow down. I'm sure there are lots of awsome places and for each place there would be someone who thinks it's the best one. At this point, we're trying to narrow down to an island.:huh:
(1) what's considered the best place for diving that is also good for not diving folks (beaches, snorkling, food).
(2) we might take our son who'll be ~1 y.o. by then, so we might take turns babysitting him. Also, we might take grand-parents with us who don't dive at all.
(3) at this point we don't care too much about night life, just comfort, nice beaches and great diving.
Thank you

Easy answer, Bonaire, Bonaire and Bonaire. Best diving, a little weak on beaches. But Eden Beach has a nice small beach or the Divi Flamingo. The diving is as good as it gets anywhere and great for new divers.

The little one is going to be problematic anywhere you go. There are babysitters but it takes some amount of trust which many would not do.