What wet suit...?

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

Reaction score
# of dives
0 - 24
Hi...I am new to diving and want to invest in a 5mm wetsuit. I was looking at getting either a Bare or Henderson and was wondering if anybody had any views/preferences. It would be great if you could let me know...Thanks

big price difference between the two. the henderson def is the better brand if you can afford it.

I have a 3mm Bare velocity full suit as well as the shorty. It has performed very well. I have not owned Henderson but before I ordered Bare, I also looked into Henderson in dive stores. I found Bare to be a much better fit on my body. Every physique is different so that may not be the case for someone else. I think in wetsuits fit is more important than brand name. If you choose to go for non stretch neoprene (believed to be superior to stretcheable neoprene) then fit becomes more crucial. I am personally a fan of stretch material because it tends to give a better fit. These suits are believed to become useless after repeated number of deep dives (pressure acting on them) but that has not been the case with my bare suit because I dont dive as often. Since they are really cheap (close to a 100$ for 3mm) if they loose their snug after 30 - 40 dives, I would be happy to throw them away and buy another one.

If I was making the purchase I would go with Bare :)

I can't comment on the Bare suits - never dived one.