What should be expected when purchasing a guided dive trip?

Would you pay $120 for two 40 minute dives on a reef with a 12m depth limit?

• Yes

Votes: 15 8.8%
  • No

Votes: 63 36.8%
  • Depends on the dive site( in this case it's a nice reef)

Votes: 57 33.3%
  • Absolutely not, that's ridiculous.

Votes: 52 30.4%

• Total voters
  • Poll closed .

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

Duckude100

Registered
Reaction score
# of dives
1000 - 2499
I'm an instructor working at a dive shop in mexico, I have worked at a couple of other shops as well, and am looking for people's opinions, and thoughts on the value of an average 2 tank dive trip. the shop i currently work at charges $120 for a 2 tank dive. Those dives are capped at 40 minutes, regardless of how much air is left in your tank. The dives are often conducted off the same vessel carrying snorkelers, so the dive sites are typically quite shallow (30ft), but the reef is nice and quite enjoyable. The boats have to be back 3 hours after leaving to accommodate other trips leaving in the pm, so we only do about a 15 minute surface interval between dives ( shallow water dives). I'm going to refrain from adding my opinion on how this dive shop is currently opperating, but would love to know if people thinks this is a fair price for the dive trip i just described, I value the opinion of both dive profressionals, and recreational divers alike. Also, if you would not go on the dive described above, what would need to change to make it more appealing?? (Sometimes we do deep