What is the right age to start Diving?

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

CaliforniaDiver.com

Registered
Reaction score
My son turned 11 this February...

When should I officially start him with SCUBA? I know about the minimum age for PADI, but when are they really ready? :06: Any experiences? Currently he uses SNUBA.

I'm 17,though i'm not an expert,but i would think that at least 14 or 15 when they are more matured to react appropriately underwater.The theory classes is another thing,are they matured enough to understand what is being taught in the class?
these are juz some factors that you might want to take into consideration.
I started when i was 16yrs old.
But hey it is all up to you

Depends on maturity. I know some 10 year olds that I would teach before some 17 year olds. If the student is in the class by themselves, it makes a big difference too. If it is a bunch of 16 year-old boys that all try to top each other, then it becomes a pain. I find that younger kids sometimes can make better students, if they have the ability and skills to do dive tables.

Have to agree with kent, depends on the student but also the instructor. If the student is able to understand the material, do the skills and think rather than react then they may be ready for scuba.

I've helped with classes with young teenagers and they have been better than many adults. These "kids" listen to what you have to say and it shows in their abilities where some adults just don't listen or something because they don't improve.