What Camera/Housing/Strobe for this budget?

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

ZiggyS

Registered
Reaction score
# of dives
500 - 999
Hi All

I've been diving for over 17 years but have only very recently started taking pictures of all the great stuff I see and I'd really like some advice.

I've currently got the most basic of P&Ss (Canon SD1100) with the appropriate small housing and am looking to upgrade to something that I can have a little more fun with.

The purists among you will probly jump up and down when I say that I'd like the camera to be able to take decent video clips as well as take good pictures but I think that's what I'm looking for at the moment :). I was considering the G10 but a review said that the zoom was locked in video mode which put me off. Also...I think the G10 with accessories may blow my budget but I'd be ok with buying used gear if it's in good condition.

With a budget of $1,000 - $1,500 what camera, housing and strobe combination would you suggest?

Thanks in advance for any advice/help!

Ziggy

My wife and I both have G10s. It is not the zoom that is locked in video mode it is the focus. Can be a little annoying at times but if you can plan ahead you can do quite well.

Mike

Hi All

I've been diving for over 17 years but have only very recently started taking pictures of all the great stuff I see and I'd really like some advice.