Wetsuit advice

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

flyingvisit

Registered
Reaction score
# of dives
0 - 24
Hi all - I'm new to diving - just introduced myself the other day on the introductions thread.

One question I had was regarding wetsuits for "heavier" people. They're always made so you're six foot tall as well!!!

Now, kindly, my thread was misread in that I was complaining that the wetsuits in the US are bigger - but sadly thats not quite what I was getting at... see, I AM one of the heavier people... I'm also average sort of height - say about 5'8'' ish.

Now, my problem is finding a wetsuit that will fit me - I tried on a 3mm Bodyglove XL in both shorty and full at the weekend, and neither fit :depressed: I could go custom, but I need a wetsuit for a dive in saltwater next weekend, so I'm starting to get a bit distraught. (Fortunately my OW qualification dives were in Florida freshwater locations, so it was pretty reasonable water temp for me).

Now add to that, I need it to be useful in more places than just Florida. I live in the UK and would like to do some diving at home, and I also move around a bit for work, so would like it to be durable enough for most locations. (I "may" be headed to Texas in the not too distant future, so it would have to be ok for most diving there at a bare minimum).