Weight of Photo rig alters trim?

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

ozziworld

Contributor
Reaction score
# of dives
I'm a Fish!
I use no wet suit, 8lbs on my weight belt, SP Jacket BC. When neutral my BC is totally empty of air when I am at 500psi on an Alum 80. Without the photo rig, my horizontal trim has been good.

I have been diving the exact same rig for at least 10 years and have never found trim to be an issue.

With the recent introduction of housing and strobe (FIX S90 and INON S2000), When doing WA I did not notice any change . The rig is negative. My guess would be about 3lbs negative.

I just recently started trying to do Macro Photography more intently and found my legs tend to float more now when doing macro and harder time trying to stay horizontal. When I totally empty my lungs I do manage to get my legs to sink.

I am guessing the additional weight at the front from the camera rig might be shifting my center of gravity too far away from the weight belt and thus leveraging my legs upwards.

Do I just add weight to my weight belt? I don't want to go to ankle weights.

Am thinking being slightly negative would be helpful when doing Macro.

Also thought good excuse to buy SP Jets in place of my old Mares Avantis :D

Any thoughts? Advice?

The best answer is to judiciously add flotation to your camera rig to make it just very slightly negative. No need to do anything to your weights, fix the camera.
Bill