Vintage Gear Question (Voit/Aqua-Lung)

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

Nick_W

Reaction score
I'm sorry if this has been asked before, I'm kind of new at this whole internet board thing.

I have a friend who's dad passed away recently. His dad was into diving in his younger days (when he was in the Navy) and had some gear laying around. My friend didn't know what to do with it so, knowing I was into diving also, he gave me the box.

Now I have a whole setup here, the first stage, two second stages, and a two gauge console and I have no idea if any of it are usable. The second stages are a Voit Swimaster MR-12 and the other just says "Calypso J". I believe that was made by Aqua-Lung, am I correct? I think the first stage is a Voit MR-12, just by finding pictures online. It looks like this one here (this image is not mine, just one that looks the same):

27A.jpg

Now, I'm not looking to fix them up and sell them. What I would love to do is get them into good working condition and use them. For some reason, even though I'm a younger guy, I really like older gear. I can't really explain it, but to me there is just something a lot cooler about the older stuff.