US Divers Arctic Reg may need to be replaced looking for your input.

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

UncleScubaTrev

Registered
Reaction score
# of dives
100 - 199
Hi, I originally posted this last week, but the data has been lost. I appreciated all the input from you guys and would really like to have your insight again. I've been diving in the cool Newfoundland waters for 15 years with my US Divers Arctic Reg. Most dives are around 60 feet but occasionally I approach 120 feet while on wrecks. I don't currently dive in the winter but want to keep that option open. I've had some cold dives early in the season and when below the thermocline. The reg has been reliable and bulletproof. It's served me very well and I'm happy with its performance. I am comforted knowing I have a dedicated cold water reg in this environment. My service guy recently indicated it might be at the end of it's life and need to be retired. He said the interior components are losing some of the chrome plating. He also indicated I might be able to extend it's life by having another service location do a "re-build" on the current reg. That cost may be better spent invested in new gear. If it is truly necessary to replace the reg that's OK, but I can't afford to replace the reg unnecessarily. I've had the gear serviced by the same location annually since I've had the gear.

1. If my gear has to be replaced what reg setup would give me the same cold water ability at the best possible price?