underwater photography class

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

KazooDiver

Contributor
Reaction score
Hello everyone....

My local dive shop is having a class on underwater photography this january... I was wondering what you all think about these types of classes...are they useful?

I am basically a beginner photographer...fstops? White balance? Those words sound like gibberish to me...

I have been wanting to take a photography class at the local community college but the classes have not fit in to my schedule this winter...

A description of the class can be found here: http://www.sassdive.com/class.htm
thanks

Go in and talk to the instructor - or ring them at least. See if the course sounds like it will cover things you a) know nothing about and b) have some idea about but will help solidify those things.

Have a look at the images taken by the instrutor who will be teaching the course. Talk to her/him about what the goals for the course are and see if that feels like where you want to go. If you have particular goals in mind, tell her/him and get a feel for if they can be met etc.

It sounds like you really are a point A on the road, so I'd say if the instructor seems enthusiastic and helpful, you'll probably get something out of it.

I looker at the PADI underwater photography manual and found it to be informative, especially for a beginner like yourself. Like Alcina says, talk to the instructor to see if it fits your needs.

David