Trimix Computer

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

Chardy

Registered
Scuba Instructor
Reaction score
I am looking to buy a Trimix Computer and I think I have 3 options

1. VR3 - appears a little unreliable
2. Abyss Explorer - appears difficult to use
3. Dive Rite Nitek He - don't know anyone who has used one

Seeking all and any opinions including other suggestions

Regards,

Paul

I had been using VR3 for 2 years, and a few of my friends have them. Non of us had any problem with the unit. The VR3 is a bit complicated to learn, but after you learn it is a great tool. With a proven software, I done a few thousand of deep dives using Proplanner with no complication.
You can upgrade the unit to higer capbilities by buying a new code (for example, trimix or CCR)

I also have the Diverite Nitek He, great unit easy to use. You can figure how to use the unit in less than 5 minutes with out opening the instruction book. A perfect unit if you are not planing of using CCR.

Chardy:

Regards,

Paul
Got the diverite and it is easy as hell to use and reliable...

Chardy:
I am looking to buy a Trimix Computer and I think I have 3 options [...] 2. Abyss Explorer - appears difficult to use [...]

I haven't used either the VR3 or the NiTek He, so I can't comment about whether or not
the Explorer is any more difficult to use. As an aside, mine is an HS Explorer, and I believe
that it is the same unit as the Abyss.

Setting up gas switching schedules on the unit directly is a bit tedious, and they