Tips please for Sony DSC-P10(dive trip)

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

Jetwrench

Contributor
Reaction score
# of dives
500 - 999
I have a trip to Bonaire in February coming up and am looking for some simple tips on setting selections for my P10. I have not used it underwater yet and am not sure where to start. Keep in mind that I have no strobe or lense filters and any additional lighting would have to come from a dive light, if at all. And most of all, note that I am a photo newbie. Any help out there?

Jetwrench

Jetwrench:
I have a trip to Bonaire in February coming up and am looking for some simple tips on setting selections for my P10. I have not used it underwater yet and am not sure where to start.

The best place to start is to familiarise yourself with the camera above water first, then get yourself underwater early on in the trip on a fairly easy, shallow dive preferably with little to no current, and then click away.

The great thing about digital, is you can see the results immediately! Try not to use the zoom, and instead get closer to the subject, taking care not to cause too much silt to fly around. If the water is clear, you should be able to use the internal flash with little or no backscatter. Your alternative is a darker shot, which will turn out blue/green, but Photoshop can usually pick out some colour.