The best wet suit, fins, and mask

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

Reaction score
Hey guys,
I am completely new to diving but absolutely loving it! I just got accepted to a marine biology graduate program in the UK and need some gear. I have always used rented "crap" stuff so I'm ready to make the first step into this new lifestyle. At this point all I need is a suit, mask and fins. I have a max of 1,000 USD to drop into this gear so I really want to get the best. I so I need your recommendations on what wet suit, fins, and masks I should get. Thanks in advance for any help that you guys can render!!!

It all depends on the fit. You can get the best "Rated" gear and if it doesn't fit it might as well be junk. Then again you could get lower quality gear with a good fit and it could be the best.

The type and quality of suit will depend on what you're doing and where you will be at.

Gary D.

The best wet suit, fins, and mask are the ones that I am wearing when diving.

However, they may NOT be the best for you. You said you have rented gear. What did you like/not like about it. That should be your starting point.

Eventually, you will have to make a decision. Buy from a place that has a liberal return policy; if it is not right for you, try something else.

Good Luck!