Tank questions....

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

Hoosier

Contributor
Reaction score
Guess what! I am a newbie for the tank. So, I have some questions.

I am looking for the tank for both air and nitrox. Based on my search in this board, there is no mechanical difference between normal air (Scuba air) and nitrox tanks.
We can switch the tank from nitrox to air without any required steps. But, O2 clean service is required to switch from air to nitrox. Am I right?

So, all regular aluminum 80CF or 100CF tanks can be switched from air to nitrox after having O2 clean service?

Please let me know if I am still confused.

I find the Aluminum compact neutral tank that advertises -1.4 lbs ``negative`` (standard AL 80 is ``positive +4 lbs) buoyant at the end of your dive so that diver can take 5 lbs ``off`` your weight belt compared to a standard AL 80!
For nitrox tank, I find the Aluminum compact neutral tank: Proprietary 6061-T6 alloy, a balanced aluminum-magnesium-silicon blend exclusive to Luxfer. This alloy never requires an eddy-current inspection with devices such as Visual Plus, Visual Eddy, or equivalent machines. They are also -1.4 lbs ``negative`` (standard AL 80 is ``positive +4 lbs) buoyant at the end of your dive so that diver can take 5 lbs ``off`` your weight belt compared to a standard AL 80!

Some diver shops still refuse to fill a tank that is made of 6061-T6 alloy?

I am not sure if the air tank above can be technically switched to Nitrox tank after having O2 clean service?