Suunto USB cable DIY

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

jstefanop

New
Reaction score
I like many others refuse to pay around 100 bucks for a USB download cable for a $400+ dive computer that essentially costs less than 10 bucks in parts. Ive looked around and have seen a few DIY for the older serial cables, but wonder if anyone has come across a DIY for the new USB cable that works with the newer line of dive computers from suunto (vyper, zoop etc).

I am an electrical engineer, if no one has attempted this I would be more than willing to reverse engineer a cable if someone is so kind to as lend me one (promise I won't break it), and post the DIY for everyone to benefit!

Did you build your regs aswell :confused: They also cost $20-30 in parts . Just want to know.

I like many others refuse to pay around 100 bucks for a USB download cable for a $400+ dive computer that essentially costs less than 10 bucks in parts. Ive looked around and have seen a few DIY for the older serial cables, but wonder if anyone has come across a DIY for the new USB cable that works with the newer line of dive computers from suunto (vyper, zoop etc).

I am an electrical engineer, if no one has attempted this I would be more than willing to reverse engineer a cable if someone is so kind to as lend me one (promise I won't break it), and post the DIY for everyone to benefit!

Why don't you also make the software to go with it. If you company would lower your salary they could lower the price of there product.