Suggestions on Hiring Underwater Videographer

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

fishfood233

Registered
Reaction score
Hi, I'm located in Los Angeles, California. I want to create some awesome videos for an underwater product, with some social media posts and for youtube. Does anyone have experience hiring? Any suggestions for special questions to ask, skills to look for, or referrals?

I'm new to any sort of video production.

Hi, I'm located in Los Angeles, California. I want to create some awesome videos for an underwater product, with some social media posts and for youtube. Does anyone have experience hiring? Any suggestions for special questions to ask, skills to look for, or referrals?

I'm new to any sort of video production.
Are you paying or just offering "exposure"? The shooters I've worked with are around $1000 per day if I recall. I don't know if this included equipment rental costs or expenses. These are Nat Geo/ Discovery Channel level people. Easy enough to get them. Go to their website. Email them, get a quote, and work out a schedule.

No, that's really unprofessional. I would pay and have a contract assigning relevant rights. Their website? Where would I find these - is it a directory, or sleuthing by-lines and investigating their online presence hunting for contact info? I'm looking to avoid the latter if possible.