Suggestions needed...

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

Donnie

Reaction score
To All,

I have been diving since 1989... and my oldest son has been "Chomping at the Bit" to learn how to dive himself.

Watching him grow up... I have had a few concerns about the development of his learning. His biggest problem is that he is good at most everything that he does. BUT!... when he runs into something that he isn't very good at... or is HARD to do... he loses interest and wants to quite!

Well... he is now 11 years old, and I signed him up for "Junior Open Water" Classes. Last night was his first night in class and all we did was "Paper Work"... in which he "Signed" his first forms! (He was pretty excited!) He was then given instructions to read "Chapter 1" by next Thursday. (06/24)

Once we got home... he dove into his book... and immediately started having troubles! Some of the words were kinda big, and he was having a difficult time understanding the principles behind compression of air volume due to the weight and density of water.

Well... the tears started flowing, as he realized that he was involved in something that resembles "Hard". I could see that he was getting very nervous... and (I may be mistaken... but,) I think the thought of "quitting" may have even crossed his mind.

I assured him that it will get easier, and that we would do it together. He smiled and went to bed.