Suggest a dive boat

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

by your question (& it's placement in the boating section) it sounds like you are looking to buy a boat to charter for divers?
If that is the case, this is a WAY open ended question. While not yet a diver, I am a vet around boats. As my signature states, I hold a 200 ton license and have been boating since I was 8 (wellllll over 40 years ago).
Lets get some questions down...
Where do you wish to use this boat? Different regions have different weather and conditions to consider.
What captains licenses do you or your captains hold? Or, a related question, how many people do you wish to take out?
How long do you expect your trips to be in miles and in hours?
There will be more questions based upon your answer (& based upon if my original assumption was correct)

Your assumption was right, sir.
I want a boat that can take up, lets say 30 fully dressed divers for day trips. It's meant to be used in South Florida area. Licenses requirements, well whatever it takes, I'll get it. Price is whatever it takes.

Maybe you would be kind enough to break down the different licenses and requirements for a USA newbie ? What takes what to drive? Got licenses for Europe and Scandinavia but not for USA.

Thank you!

From the USCG website. You'll need the Master 100 ton license for that many customers.

USCG Licensing

You'll need 720 days of sea service for a place like Florida. That's the biggest hurdle, and the one I'm currently working on. :D