Stupid question about strobes

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

Janko

Registered
Reaction score
Hi. I'm very new at underwater photography, in that I have taken zero total pictures. I will however, begin the process once I obtain a casing for my Canon SD-110.

Question is this: what exactly does a strobe accomplish underwater, and since my camera allegedly has a built-in strobe does this do the trick? Is 'strobe' just a word for 'flash'? I'm really unfamiliar with all this.

Underwater photography needs LOTS AND LOTS of extra light, so that is why you need a strobe (fancy fotogeek talk for extra flash).

The internal flash may give you a little, but the fact that it is close to the lens means that the light going out that gets reflected by particles in the water, comes directly back to the lens and creates photos with "snow" or white speckles.

If your flash or strobe is off to the side on an arm, this reduces this backscatter and you get clearer photos.

The secret of taking great underwater photos: Take hundreds, and throw away most of them. That is the great thing about digital.

Have fun I am sure you will get some great advice fom this board, and make sure you post your photos for us to admire.

I see...thanks.
So is it common to just buy a standalone strobe and just disable the built-in flash?

Is a strobe absolutely necessary, or will I survive without one so long as the water is clear enough?