Some help for a new diver trying to get fit!!!

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

tehkraken

Contributor
Reaction score
Hey, everyone, I am new to diving and I would like to slim up asbustantial amount. Could you all be of any assisstance? I would appreciate some helpful suggesstions and good recipes!!! Thanks, you guys seem pretty nice. Have a great day.
Cheers, Josh

I still remember the expression my first dive instructor told our class: you don't dive to stay fit, you stay fit to dive.

For me, cycling works best. My part of the world gets snow in the winter so I use a stationary bike in the winter and go outdoors in the summer. I also cross-train with an eliptical machine. Both of these activities are easy on my knees which have acted up in the past from high-impact activities like running.

For a good post-workout snack, I suggest a homemade smoothie. Combine 1 cup low-fat yogurt, 1 cup low-fat milk, 1 banana and 1 cup of frozen berries (whatever you like) in a blender and voila! A shake that tastes great and is healthy to boot. I even have these as my lunch or with my dinner.

Cheers

Cycling works good enough :)

Depending on your conditions, you might also consider inline skating. Be careful though, I broke a finger while learning to skate so that was a 1 month surface interval :(.