Solo Diving

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

scubazen

Registered
Scuba Instructor
Reaction score
Hi all,
I read articles about solo diving. I would be interested to have the opinion of others.
What do you have to say about it?
Do you support it?
Have you ever done it?
Would you do it again?
As an instructor, I have done it sometimes at the end of the dive, when all my students where back on the boat. It was a great way to decompress from the work load.
I wonder how the new solo diver certification is going to be accepted around the world?
Philippe

Hi Scubazen

I solo dive and I have done so for a number of years. However its important to clarify what "responsible" solo diving is so that newbies to diving don't get the wrong idea.

I view it as a form of advanced diving, and simply put it isn't for everyone. For a start I wouldn't reccomend it for anyone with out a minimum of 100 plus dives under their belt. Secondly you have to be 100% self relient and be ready to apply the special procedures and equiptment configurations that are needed to engage in this activity.

This includes, but is not limited to redundant air sources, specialized equipment configurations, specific dive planning, and management of solo diving problems and emergencies. Responsible solo diving is not diving alone without the mental discipline, attitude or equipment.