Solo Diving, How about WHY we should not instead of just NO you should not.

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

DavidHickey

Contributor
Reaction score
Kingsman, Ohio. Near Wilmington and Waynesville
# of dives
50 - 99
I probably should have kept this on the post below, but I'm just curious guys I'm really new to diving, and I've read alot on the horrors of solo diving here on the board. I've read how dangerous it is and how you should have 1000's of dives before ever attempting it and should by NO means EVER consider it unless you can snatch the pebble out of the masters hand. BUT I have never read any reasons why people are so strongly against it. For instance my dives to date have been in shallow gravel pits 30' or so and in shallow tropical areas about the same depth. From these depths in good dive conditions can you explain the dangers you may face that would make this any more dangerous than snorkeling solo in the same waters? I am by NO means trying to say there are not dangers but being new and naive, I think to myself that in a worse case scenario you simply do a CESA inflate your BCD and swim to shore. Once again I'm not advocating solo diving, just wondering what hidden dangers await that basic scuba skills we are all taught could not remedy at these shallower depths. Most the answers I've read are to the extent of "If you have to ask your not ready" well thats not a real informative answer.

Because if ANYTHING happens underwater that would require a buddy's help, you're dead.