Skin under wet suit or for tropics

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

DolphinWannabe

Registered
Reaction score
I'm a complete newbie, just certified, have very little equipment yet (mask, snorkel, boots, fins) and am trying to make purchases in a sensible sequence that doesn't break my budget (and really p*** off my wife :) )

I live in New England, and what local diving I'm doing is in (rented) 7mm wet suits. I've found the top part of the suit especially awkward to get on and have been advised that a suitable underskin really helps.

Any advice in this area? I've seen some ads for "rash guards" at very reasonable prices ($20 range for a top) that look they could do the job nicely. Anything to look for or be careful about, or is this just a commodity-type item? UV protection seems to be a nice sell, having gotten a bit of a shoulder burn between dives.

Is something like this a good idea for the tropics as well? I have a Carbbean cruise scheduled for the fall and want to figure out what I should be aquiring prior to that trip.

If I'm temperature comfortable and don't have too much problem with the 7mm bottom, seems like just a top would be sufficient rather than a full body skin.

Advice on searching for this type of equipment online? I'd been looking for "dive skin" and just stumbled across the "rash guard". Are they really something different or is it just a name?

Well I think some folks use a rash guard or Lycra skin as it may give some sorts of sea life ie sea lice off your skin tissue as I am not sure.