single or doubles BPW?

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

KentB

Contributor
Reaction score
# of dives
200 - 499
I recently did a buoyancy trim and propulsion workshop with a GUE instructor and while I don't agree with ALL of GUE thoughts and practices I still want to take the Fundamentals course and want to do tech diving in the future. Im thinking of the fundamentals in the 2018 fall/winter

I currently use a tusa X wing back inflate BCD i have 2 tanks (1-120 1-149)
my dilema is Im still learning to dive and wondering if I should get more experience under my belt before I jump to doubles? Since Doubles will be in my future hopefully sooner than later why prolong a single tank?
Im thinking of twin 120s or 130s

any advice on BPW?
I dive dry and will have steel tank(s) im thinking a SS backplate. Id guess Id need about 40lbs lift?
any brands to reccomend or stay away from? Almost everyone around here that Ive got close enough to see dives Halcyon stuff.............

thanks!!

If doubles is your future, I'd say switch sooner than later. With a few exceptions, a BP is a BP is a BP. Harnesses can be made with webbing from your local fabric store for $10. The wing is the only consideration. I have the Xdeep Hydros 40 and 50. Very nice. Their new NX series are considered a cut above. I'd consider those. I do like how there are two holes to choose from when it comes to lining up your wing with your BP. Good luck.