severe headaches

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

scooter_bell

Registered
Reaction score
does anyone have any info regarding regular and severe headaches after a dive? Is it a sinus thing or are there other causes?

Initial diclaimer: I'm no doctor :nono: and don't play one on T.V. That said, my advice is fairly benign.

There are a few possible causes of headaches which are dive related, and I'm sure I won't hit them all.

If you become more congested during a dive, it could be a reverse squeeze in the sinuses. Basically, some of the high pressure air you breathe at depth gets trapped by mucous and as you ascend, it exerts pressure on the surrounding tissues. This can cause pain in any of the sinus areas, but is quickly relieved if the congestion clears. To prevent these types of headaches, never dive if you have a cold or need to use decongestants in order to equalize your ears.

Another type of dive related headache comes from improper breathing technique. If you "skip breathe" - holding your breath thinking you will make your air last longer - you may get a headache. Skip breathing is ineffective at conserving air and may result in a buildup of CO2. This buildup of CO2 causes you to experience an increased urge to breathe and can result in a headache upon surfacing. To prevent this type of headache, never hold your breath while diving.

Originally posted by scooter_bell
does anyone have any info regarding regular and severe headaches after a dive? Is it a sinus thing or are there other causes?