Seasickness?

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

av8tr

Registered
Reaction score
# of dives
100 - 199
Fellow bubble blowers,
I have an unusual problem that I am hoping someone else might have experienced. I get severe sea sickness during the spring and summer but have no problems during the fall and winter. I am not a novice diver (20 years or so, I am getting ready to take the dive master certification course. I occasionally crew on a large sail boat and during the fall and winter I can ride the waves with the best of them but come spring and summer I am puking my guts out. I do have seasonal allergies and take Zertek for it starting in Feb and ending in May. When I go out on the boat I take Dramamine tabs the night before. Yet still I get sick and often it ruins the dive experience for me. I am debating whether to go ahead with dive master unless I get this resolved. I have tried all the over the counter meds and 50 or so homeopathic remedies (from pickled ginger to that stuff you sniff). I haven’t yet gone for prescription meds but I am close to doing so. Does anyone have any suggestions or experienced similar issues?
Jack

Good question, sorry I can't be of help... I'm a paramedic and my EMS system just started to allow us to give Zofran (ondansetron). I wonder if it could be prescribed for seasickness and how it would effect you with diving?

Hi av8tr and StreetDoctor,