Scuba Therapy?

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

ASUPaula

Reaction score
I'm new to the world of scuba diving, and am also a psychotherapist. I'm convinced scuba diving would be great therapy for any number of issues. My heart goes out to adolescents, especially girls, perhaps owing to my own parenting of my daughters, 15 and 17, who are adopted from foster care. Does anyone have experience with "scuba therapy"? I'm also interested in any ideas anyone has about the prospect.

Brings me a lot of peace and serenity---enough so, that I have wondered why scuba diving is often considered a high adventure, high excitement, adrenaline rush kind of activity :06:

Diving does present a great way for people to relax and recharge as it is very much a situation where people live in the moment and are unlikely to continue worrying about past and present concerns.

For an adolecent, diving also has the potential to be an area of competence for an individual who may otherwise feel they are not good at anything. That was certainly the case for me. Diving has also been very good for my teenager, but I have not considered it for use with clients.