scared of currents...

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

Lochard

Registered
Reaction score
# of dives
25 - 49
Hello fellow scuba-boarders,

New member here. Bangkok based. Certified in October 2017 with SSI and did PADI AOW on a live aboard in January 2018. Planning to get Nitrox next month.

I know that I'm kind of jumping ahead of myself, as I'm not that experienced (30 logged dives) but Ive booked two weeks in the Solomon islands for this July. Figure that I'm not getting any younger and I might not be living this close to the western Pacific again.

Question about currents. I managed ok in the Similans with some drift dives, but recently at Green Island, Taiwan, I had to fight so hard to get down to the reef that I seriously thought I was going to be blown off into the open ocean. The DM didn't brief us for the severity of the current at all. We didn't have reef hooks (unlike the other dive party on the boat) and by the time i had hauled myself along the top of the reef to shelter in a crevice i was breathing so hard I felt like my reg wasn't giving me enough air and came close to panicking and heading to the surface. I eventually regained control of my breathing and the rest of the dive continued ok. So now I'm kind of freaked out by the thought of strong currents and how to deal with them.

Any advice on this would be gratefully received.

A few easy ways..

Good trim and decent fitness helps a lot