Rule of thumb on backscatter reduction?

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

Slick6

Contributor
Reaction score
Hi all. I'm new to both diving and U/W photography. Just looking for a rule of thumb on how far to have the strobe away from the lens to avoid backscatter.

Thanks,

Slick6:
Hi all. I'm new to both diving and U/W photography. Just looking for a rule of thumb on how far to have the strobe away from the lens to avoid backscatter.

Thanks,
It depends on how far away you are from what you are photographing and how wide an angle your lens covers. For close-up/macro, the flash can be as close as a few inches from the lens (when the subject is a few inches away). The farther away you get from the subject, the farther the strobe should be from the lens. I would guess that with most underwater photography when the subject is within 1-3 feet away, the strobe should be about 1-2 feet from the lens. This is just my opinion. The idea is to picture the light coming out of your strobe as a "cone". The subject is supposed to be lit by the bottom edge of this "cone". This leaves the space between your camera and the subject unlit by the strobe and therefore without backscatter. In the real world you'll have to settle for trial and error.