Red sea in December - Best option?

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

Nausica

Registered
Reaction score
# of dives
50 - 99
I’ve a week of holidays at beginning of December, and I’ve decided to go to dive in Egypt, as I live in Europe. I’ve been done liveboards in Komodo and Philippines, among others, but it is my first time diving in Egypt. Also in the last two years I’ve not dived much, most of them in easy conditions.

I'm struggling deciding what to do in Egypt. My favorite part of diving is been surrounded by colorful coral and hundreds of fishes, like in aquarium. I also love big bank of fishes moving around, and turtles. Sharks I find them cool, and they a happy addittion to the dives, but not a priority anymore. Similar for wrecks, they are fun to explore (and Thistlegorm would be amazing) but not especial interest. Would be amazing if I could see a dolphin, I’ve still not dived with them.

My options of routes and vessels were very limited to my holiday days, and available flights that are not utterly expensive or crazy combinations, and not fully booked. Brother Islands, Daedalus & Elphinstone itineraries I’ve discarded because it looked very focused in sharks (or maybe I’m mistaken?) and so far I’ve narrowed my options to:

• Fly Sharm, do daytrips from shore, maybe a short 3 days liveboard including Thistlegorm (Snefro Pearl). I’ve read that is not the best time for Ras Mohammed, what about Tiran straights?
  • Fly to Hurghada (bonus point that maybe I could visit Luxor) and do one of the following: