Recommendations on a point and shoot package on a strict budget

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

GregT943

Contributor
Reaction score
# of dives
2500 - 4999
I am somewhat new to underwater photography, but not new to photography itself. As of now I have a simple canon power shot and housing, but it doesn't take the best pictures. I simply don't have the cash to get housings and strobes for any of my DSLRs. My budget is around $1000. I like photographing large things more than the macro stuff. I know Sea Life has some packages (camera, housing, and strobe) for around $1000. Are these cameras any good? Is it easy to adjust the white balance? Do you guys have any reccomendations for other camera systems? My budget is pretty strict so if it's over $1000, I can't buy it. Thanks guys

I don't know much about the Sea Life packages and with that being the case, my advice would be to buy used based on your budget. Keep your eyes peeled on the classifieds here on this board. Below is an example of something currently for sale that could work for you.

http://www.scubaboard.com/forums/cl...e-canon-g10-ikelite-housing-pair-strobes.html

Best advice for getting decent photos without breaking the bank is making sure the camera has manual settings (aperature and shutter priority at a minimum) and a strobe. If you spend some time thumbing around this general UW Photography forum as well as the sub-forums for the various camera manufacturers you'll be able to get a good feel for what the market has gravitated toward.