Question about computer algorithm

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

dgangi

Contributor
Reaction score
I recently purchased a Sherwood Logic computer and read the manual from front to back. I am an engineer/mathematician and have a natural propensity to know the details of how things work, so I also read the technical specifications about the computer (the fine print in back).

The algorithm utilized by this computer is listed in the manual as:
- Modified Haldanean algorithm using maximum allowable nitrogen levels developed by Merrill Spencer
- 12 tissue compartments
- Repetitive dive database by DSAT/Rogers&Powell
- Altitude algorithm based on NOAA

When was initially shopping for a computer I noticed that just about every one is touted as using a "modified Haldanean" algorithm, so I figured this was the norm. I was curious as to what "modifications" were done to this Haldanean algorithm and if they were all accepted. And after reading this a little more, there is greater detail about the algorithm than I was expecting -- and I anticipate these details vary from computer to computer. Or maybe not.

So can anybody tell me exactly what this algorithm means? Do many other computers use this same algorithm? And is it considered a "safe and acceptable" algorithm?

Thx...Doug

Hello Doug:

This is a good question, and it is something that we sometimes see in the “Ask Dr Deco” forum. I will tell you my version, at least, of what this all means.

- Modified Haldanean algorithm