Puerto Vallarta

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

jlkk

New
Reaction score
Hi all,

I am going to PV on Wednesday. Have been doing some research, and am wondering which site is the best to go to? Marietas islands, Chimo, or La Corbetena? I am a novice diver.

As well, any dive operators I should avoid?

Thank you for your help!

I'm going back for 5 weeks on April 2nd. I haven't been diving there yet but I'm working on a TV project with the Mexican government and will be filming and diving with Vallartech, taking a Nitrox course with them, Pacific Scuba and Twin Dolphins. I have a home there but I will be diving for the first time in 5 years with these folks. I spend a lot of time fishing there. One of the reasons I'm getting back into it is because of this project but a lot of people I know in PV who dive and these are the top 3 shops. As far as locations, I know Los Arcos can get pretty crowded but depending on your experience Corbetena is supposed to be terrific. I'll be diving there but you can ask Giovanni from Twin Dophins about the big Mantas and where to find them.

jlkk:
Hi all,

I am going to PV on Wednesday. Have been doing some research, and am wondering which site is the best to go to? Marietas islands, Chimo, or La Corbetena? I am a novice diver.

Thank you for your help!
Sounds like you only have one day to dive. If so, for a novice diver, I would suggest Marietas with Pacific Scuba. La Corbetena can be a more advanced dive. Just MHO.

jlkk:
Hi all,

Thank you for your help!