PST and swimming pool

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

squidguy

Contributor
Reaction score
This may be a stupid question but...

Got some new PST cylinders and was wondering if the zinc coating would react to chlorine or bromine in a pool????

Thanks for your words of wisdom!:confused:

I've been using a PST HP65 tank in pool sessions for 2-3 years with no drastic effects. The coating has gotten just a tad darker over the years but I can't say whether it's from chlorine, salt water, ozone, whatever....

I would personally check the PH and Alkalinity before going in.

You may find that the pool guy has the PH and or Alkalinity extremely acidic. I have seen pools that the pool guy has etched the chrome ring around the pool light (now a nice BLACK color), overnight.

Most pool guys are flakes (I said most). A very high level of chlorine can also cause etching. But it has to be VERY VERY high. And this will generally mean the rest of your equipment will suffer first (wetsuit, BC, etc)

It is very common to see PH and Alkalinity levels way out of line.
PH should not be below 7.6 and the Alkalinity should be between
90 ppm and 110 ppm (110 ppm is preferred)

If you jump into a pool that has a PH of below 7.4 or an Alkalinity below 70 ppm, you are absolutely damaging all the metal parts on your rig. You would be surprised how often you will find this the case.

cybordolphin once bubbled...
I would personally check the PH and Alkalinity before going in.